Alaska has some of the strictest DUI penalties in the nation. Even first-time offenders face the prospect of a short sentence. And repeat offenders may receive felony charges depending on the circumstances of their arrest. If you’ve received a DUI, understanding the possible penalties can help you prepare for your consequences.
The penalties for a first-time offense
If you’re a first-time DUI offender in Alaska, you will receive a misdemeanor charge. As part of your punishment, you will serve a mandatory 72-hour sentence, and pay a fine of at least $1,500. You will also face a license suspension of 90 days or more, and you will have to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle.
The penalties for additional offenses
Your latest DUI charge may be your second or third. For second offenses, Alaska imposes a minimum prison sentence of 20 days and a fine of at least $3,000. Your license will once again face suspension, this time for one year or more. For third offenses, those numbers increase to at least 60 days in jail and a minimum fine of $4,000. Yet, your third arrest may have come within 10 years of your previous convictions. In this case, you will receive felony – instead of misdemeanor – charges. Your repercussions become more severe once your charge increases. You will not only face at least 120 days in jail and a minimum fine of $10,000, but a permanent license suspension. Your license may qualify for restoration, though, if you have not committed any crimes within 10 years of your third DUI offense.
Alaska’s stiff DUI penalties can affect your livelihood. But no matter the consequences you face, you can find ways to reduce their impact. Consulting with a criminal defense lawyer can help you work through your charges.